Pardon my paranoia 

When we met

In the scalding heat 

Of the barren desert

You came gently 

A cool breeze slowly

Grazing the tiny hairs on my skin
You told me you were

Water 

Here to quench my thirst 
And I took you in

One big gulp after the other

Till you made me heavy 

With satisfaction 
I did not know that

You could be a storm

Raining down pellets 

Or the waves 

Crashing from beyond 

Or a lake 

Sitting at peace

Or a drop in the sand 

Soon to vanish 
So now that my skin is dry

And my heart is fractured 

Into the crocodile bark of a tree
What will you be

For me?

Leave a Reply

