Sarafina 

I have never seen tomorrow.

Each night I go to sleep 

With the pictures of today’s 

Battles on a loop in my mind.

My hands are filthy with

The smell of the paint 

Adorning the walls I tried 

To knock down 

But failed. 

My skin is salty with

The tears we shed in frustration.

My soul is heavy

With regret

That tomorrow never comes.

I will wake up to the same walls

Only this time 

They will be much stronger.

I have never seen tomorrow 

But each night I close my eyes 

And wait for it to appear 

Before my tired eyes.

Maybe it does and 

I’m to used to

The pain of today’s shadows 

To notice the rainbow 

Over the wall.

Leave a Reply

